Scorpio’s World

Thoughts on Politics, Race, and Middle Earth

Beginning In The Fifth Age …

Posted by scorpiomkm on January 18, 2007

Beginning In The Fifth Age of Middle Earth

Afteryule 17, 5007

 

I’m a HUGE “Ring Rat”!

 

I read “The Lord of the Rings” yearly, as well “The Silmarillion”; so I hope you’re a Fan of J.R.R. Tolkien as well. Otherwise, a lot of what I discuss in this blog will be ‘way over’ your head, okay!  : )

Never has Fantasy been so Instructive to me then the Period 2001 – Present: The George W. Bush Era.  For I have found that Fantasy makes more sense to me than anything demonstrated by THIS ADMINISTRATION. The “Iraq War” is simply madness ~ a cancer ~ that unless held ‘in check’ will destroy the Body Politic.

Fantasy (and Fantasy Writing) is Instructive at its best when it holds out to us all ….. High Ideals, Courage, and Excellence in the face of unspeakable fear and terror. And, too, Fantasy Tales address the Lower Instincts of our Nature ~ with always the clarion Call to ‘do better’ and Grow.

The current conflict(s) in the Middle East requires Mankind ~ “All” of mankind ~ to overcome ancient hatreds and fears: or else be consumed and die.

Soon, the United States will be asked to Decide between the BEST Man (or Woman) for the Office of President of the United States …. or simply VOTE our prejudices and bigotry.

Works like Tolkien’s “Lord of the Rings” etc. address many of these ‘Real Life’ Issues, do they not? Hence Fantasy will forever be relevant regardless the Era.

*A pix I took from along “My Lake” in Oakland, CA

 I WRITE WHAT I LIKE

SCORPIO

Leave a Reply

 
