Scorpio’s World

Thoughts on Politics, Race, and Middle Earth

“Its Official!”

Posted by scorpiomkm on February 10, 2007

Obama Makes 2008 Presidential Run Official

By NEDRA PICKLER

 

(Feb. 10) – Democrat  Barack Obama declared himself a candidate Saturday for the White House in 2008, evoking Abraham Lincoln’s ability to unite a nation and promising to lead a new generation as the country’s first black president.

                                       _________________________

Well. Its Official now!!

As I watched Obama Announce this morning the words Proclaiming his Candidacy:

We can build a more hopeful America,” Obama said in remarks prepared for delivery. And that is why, in the shadow of the Old State Capitol, where Lincoln once called on a divided house to stand together, where common hopes and common dreams still live, I stand before you today to announce my candidacy for president of the United States.”

A tear welled in my eyes. Tears of Joy, Hope, Pride, and High Expectation my tears were; because for the First Time in my LIFE, I’m witnessing a Man ~ a Black Man ~ that CAN (and should) WIN the Democratic Nomination.

I LOVE History. And what I saw TODAY was truly History In The Making! Because to see in the audience “ALL” races …. “All” genders …. “All” nationalities be mesmerized as Obama stood on the steps of the Springfield Home of Abe Lincoln:

It doesn’t get any better then THAT!

I’m Proud TODAY! Proud not just as a Black man, but Proud to be an American as well. A feeling, I might add, that hasn’t come often during these past awful and dreadful last 7 l-o-n-g YEARS. But I’m also a Realist.

I spent yesterday Posting on an AOL ‘Political Board’, and I must say: the Filth, the Ugliness, the Racism, and vile HATRED towards Obama is ‘out there’, and let’s not kid anybody about that. But I’m going into this “Struggle” with a Positive and Hopeful attitude. With a mentality that I HOPE “All Americans” will judge Obama with an ‘Open Mind’ and conscience; free of bigotry and prejudice inclinations. Because if they do so, then TOGETHER American can move into the Twenty-first Century with High Ideals and Great Promise.

Obama’s ‘Run’ for the Presidency will be closely Observed by the rest of the World. And as America goes about her business Preaching Freedom, Justice, and Equality …. how America handles a Presidential Candidate of COLOR will be well noted from Africa to Asia. From Europe to the Russian tundra. From Canada to Cameroon.

Good Luck and God speed, Obama!

Fight the good Fight!


 

Leave a Reply

 
