Scorpio’s World

Thoughts on Politics, Race, and Middle Earth

FDH “Book Review”

Posted by scorpiomkm on June 2, 2007

      The Felicity Daily Herald
       “All the news that’s fit to print; and a whole lot more”

                                Book Review

    “You speak of destiny,” he said, “as if it was fixed. And I ain’t sure I like that any more than a war I’m enlisted in without knowing about it. Where’s my free will, if you please? And this child seems to me to have more free will than anyone I ever met. Are you telling me that she’s just some kind of clockwork toy wound up and set going on a course she can’t change?”

       “We are all subject to the fates. But we must all act as if we are not,” said the witch, “or die of despair. There is a curious prophesy about this child: she is destined to bring about the end of destiny. But she must do so without knowing what she is doing, as if it were her nature and not her destiny to do it. If she’s told what she must do, it will be the triumph of despair, forever. The universes will all become nothing more than interlocking machines, blind and empty of thought, feeling, life …”

 ~ excerpt from Book One entitled “The Golden Compass“, part of the trilogy of Philip Pullman’sHis Dark Materials”  

                                  *************

I rarely Recommend Works of Fantasy. After all, this genre is unique in that each Tale holds meaning and importance to a select few Individuals. For instance, some People enjoy Tales of Wizards while others can’t relate in the least. Some people enjoy Tales of dragons …. while others find such to be most boring. I understand.

Personally, I’m a very picky READER of Fantasy. A tale must reach me to the Soul; make me feel CONNECTED to its geography, character(s), and plot. I’m embarrassed to admit that my library holds more books of Fantasy that I’ve Started & Stopped dead in its tracks because many books in this genre failed to CONNECT with me; thus I hesitate to Recommend books because my own tastes are quite weird at times.

                                              : )

Having said that <g>, I want to Highly Recommend a book I’m currently enjoying. It’s a trilogy entitled “His Dark Materials” by Philip Pullman. Oh, you have witch clans and armored ‘talking‘ bears, angels and magical devices ~ but at its HEART (at least in the first Book entitled “The Golden Compass”) beats a very compelling Tale involving a wonderful, charming, and highly courageous little girl named Lyra.

Read this first book and see if you don’t fall ‘head over heels’ in LOVE with her!

Apparently this holiday season a MOVIE will be released of the first book. So you might want to get a head start on the upcoming movie and begin reading it, huh!

As Margo Jefferson writes in The New York Times Book Review ~

“War, politics, magic, science, individual lives and cosmic destinies are all here … shaped and assembled into a narative of tremendous pace by a man with a generous, precise intelligence. Pullman gives us so much …. I am completely enchanted.”

For which I wholeheartedly concur!! 

Leave a Reply

 
