Scorpio’s World

Thoughts on Politics, Race, and Middle Earth

“Thanks For The Ride!”

Posted by scorpiomkm on July 31, 2007

Former 49ers coach Bill Walsh dead at 75

By JANIE MCCAULEY, AP Sports Writer 

SAN FRANCISCO – Bill Walsh, the groundbreaking football coach who won three Super Bowls and perfected the ingenious schemes that became known as the West Coast offense during a Hall of Fame career with the San Francisco 49ers, has died. He was 75.

Walsh died early Monday following a long battle with leukemia, according to Stanford University, where he served as coach and athletic director.

                                                            ****

 

This morning when I awoke I was rocked when I learned of the ‘Passing’ of Tom Snyder. Then just now I learned that Bill Walsh, too, had ‘Passed’.

Bill Walsh came on the 49er Football scene around the time I came to the San Francisco Bay Area. And I recall right before he coached the 49ers: they stunk to high heaven! Hell, people would offer to GIVE me tickets to a 49er Game and I’d refuse; that’s how ugly the 49er Football Team was BEFORE Bill Walsh!

Oh, I’ll ALWAYS bleed Cleveland Brown colors; but over the years I’ve adopted a LOVE for both Bay Area Teams (49ers & Raiders) ~ with a fondness for the 49ers outshining that for the boys in Silver & Black. So with a deep sadness in my heart, I mourn the ‘Passing’ of this great Football Coach and Man.

Thanks, Bill, for the Great Ride!!

Leave a Reply

 
