Scorpio’s World

Thoughts on Politics, Race, and Middle Earth

“The Two Towers Opening”

Posted by scorpiomkm on November 24, 2008

 

In “The Lord of the Rings”, Gandalf engages in a colossal battle with the Balrog. But it was the first video clip that caused me to say when I first saw the movie on the Big Screen:

 “Where was this film shot? Because I’m going to visit it wherever it was!”

Well, as I soon found out, the film “The Lord of the Rings” trilogy was Filmed in New Zealand. So I visited this enchanting Land.

I flew from San Francisco to Sidney, Australia ~ about a 14 HOUR flight. From Sidney I flew to Christchurch, New Zealand ~ which was another 3.5 HOUR flight. BTW ~ the films “Misty Mountains” is New Zealand’s ‘Southern Alps’, located on the South Island.

I REALLY wanted to see the Misty Mountains, baby <g>. So the very next morning I took a van and headed west from Christchurch … and I’ll NEVER forget it:

Rising up on the horizon was the ‘Misty Mountains’! I started to cry with intense Joy at seeing these MAGNIFICENT Mountains that Frodo, Sam, Merry, Pippin, Gandalf, Aragorn, Boromir tread. Right before my eyes I fully expected to see a band of orcs running around; maybe even see a Balrog!  : )

I did see the mountain range where Isengard was reconstructed!!

This Opening Scene to “The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers” (the First video clip) …. TO ME … is one of the Greatest Opening Scenes in Film History!

But after all ~ I’m a HUGE Tolkien Fanatic!  : )

Leave a Reply

 
