Scorpio’s World

Thoughts on Politics, Race, and Middle Earth

Christmas Eve Nights

Posted by scorpiomkm on December 24, 2009

It’s Christmas Eve, and I’m always amazed how my thoughts drift back to my Youth.

Each year on ‘Christmas Eve’ I often reflect back on my little Midwestern Ohio Town ~ back on the ‘Christmas Eve’ of my childhood. During my Youth I would often  walk around my little town at night, Christmas Eve Night,  enthralled and in wonder at the warmly decorated homes I’d pass; or notice the slowing down of human outdoor activity and traffic almost to a halt. And as I think about it now, it seemed that usually around this time ~ Christmas Eve Night ~ was when I would feel most alone. An aloneness borne out of the stark solitude of huge snowflakes falling from an ink-black night sky. And no doubt, the bone cold night air and the far off sound of a car tire whirling to escape a snow drift contributed to this feeling of ALONENESS as well. But it was a ‘Good Aloneness’ that allowed me to take the wonders of ‘Christmas Eve Night’ in to the fullest.

I would walk for Blocks …. MILES, just soaking it all in. Trying my best to absorb the TRUE MEANING of this night as best I could. So when I reached that stage of  my ‘Christmas Eve Walk’, I usually would find myself in front of  St. Mary’s Catholic Church where a Christmas Eve Mass was being held. And my goodness, the Choir sang as angels and lifted my spirits to the Heavens!

I miss the innocence of that TIME. A TIME when I still wondered when (not IF)  Santa would visit me. A TIME when both of my parents were around to welcome me home with a kiss and a nice hot chocolate.

A TIME when I had visions of a little baby lying in a manger on a cold night ~ a lonely cold night. Just like the ‘Christmas Eve Nights” I used to walk …. in my small Midwestern Ohio town.

Merry Christmas, Everybody!!

Leave a Reply

 
