Scorpio’s World

Thoughts on Politics, Race, and Middle Earth

Yes, WE CAN!!

Posted by scorpiomkm on January 14, 2010

The Felicity Daily Herald

Quake aid starts to arrive for desperate Haiti

A boy looks through an opening in the rubble of his home in the 31 Delmar AP – A boy looks through an opening in the rubble of his home in the 31 Delmar neighborhood in Port-au-Prince, …

By MIKE MELIA, Associated Press Writer Mike Melia, Associated Press Writer 2 hrs 20 mins ago

PORT-AU-PRINCE, Haiti – Desperately needed aid from around the world slowly made its way Thursday into Haiti, where supply bottlenecks and a leadership vacuum left rescuers scrambling on their own to save the trapped and injured and get relief supplies into the capital.

The international Red Cross estimated that 45,000 to 50,000 people were killed in Tuesday’s magnitude-7.0 earthquake.

President Barack Obama announced that “one of the largest relief efforts in our recent history” is moving toward Haiti, with thousands of troops and a broad array of civilian rescue workers flying or sailing in to aid the stricken country — backed by more than $100 million in relief funds.

To the Haitians, Obama promised: “You will not be forsaken.”

*********************

According to Pat Robertson, this MASSIVE Death & Destruction visited upon the People of Haiti was due to the Haitian People “making a deal with the devil!” In-other-words, “How dare these Blacks dare throw off Colonialism and dare think they could govern themselves!”

This I expect from a Right wing bigot and racist like Pat Robertson, or a Rush Fatball, or a Glenn Idiot. In fact, whenever I hear the inhumane words of Republicans and their Right wing Masters say ANYTHING ~ I feel the hot breath of the Devil himself. Words full of hate, bigotry, insensitivity, ignorance and outright stupidity. But since I don’t live in “The Weird World of the Right”, I reflect instead on ‘these kind of stories’ with a deep sense of awe and disbelief. Particularly since I LIVE on a major ‘fault line’ here in Northern California.

I’m a deep Believer in God. A God not necessarily of a ‘Christian God’ or a ‘Jewish God’ or an ‘Islamic God’: but simply GOD. But I must admit, that the ONLY times I doubt the existence of a God is when 1) I view a child dying of some disease and 2) when I view poverty ridden countries suffer through Natural occurences as earthquake, tsunamis, forest fires, flood etc.. But then whenever the above two circumstances do occur, I’m again reinvigorated  by the acts of Human Beings during the heighth of these crisis; when it would be easier to ‘give in’ to hopelessness and dispar.

The Human Spirit is Immortal and unconquerable!

Some say, “See! If there was a God … would He allow such things as children dying or ‘Killer Earthquakes’ to take place!” To which I add, “We are all MORTAL. Nobody KNOWS the length of TIME we’re given on this green earth of ours; and why it’s imperative we each LIVE each day to its fullest.” But a greater extent I’ve learned that “TESTING & FOREBEARANCE are critical to the development of the Human Soul.” Not to the physical Body: but to the Human Soul. For it is through the Human Soul that we can ENDURE the seemingly untimely Death of a child. For it is through the Human Soul that we can ENDURE the tragic results of Mother Nature’s Fury. TESTING & FOREBEARANCE enables the Soul to expand and Grow.


Reflect on the Lesson expressed and TAUGHT in the 23rd Psalm:


The Lord is my Shepherd, I SHALL NOT WANT.

He maketh me to lie down in green pastures. He leadeth me beside the still waters.

He RESTORETH my Soul, He leadeth me in the path of righteousness for His name sake.

Yea, though I ‘WALK THROUGH THE VALLEY OF THE  SHADOW OF DEATH’ I will fear no evil … for Thou art with me;

Thy Rod and Thy Staff they comfort me.

Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies. Thou anointest my head with oil … my cup runneth over.

Surely goodness and mercy will follow me …. all the days of my life;

And I will dwell in the ‘House of the Lord’ forever.


YEA, THOUGH I WALK THROUGH …. the Valley of the shadow of death … I will fear no Evil!


It’s because of our SOULS that we ~ mere Mortals ~ can Rise to the Challenges of ANY event visited during our TIME on this earth.  And so we eventually get off our bed of pain at the ‘passing’ of a child, or we pick up & stand up whenever hurricanes and earthquakes strike; we do these things  because as ‘Children of God’ ~ having an Immortal Soul ~


WE CAN!


AND WE MUST!!


Leave a Reply

 
